Using Teams, you can group projects and users of your workspace and restrict their visibility to other teams. Using this, it is possible that teams can only see their own projects, but not other teams' projects.
In the menu Settings > Teams, the teams in your workspace are managed.
As long as you haven't created any teams, you won't see options in your workspace to assign users or projects to teams or to filter by them.
To create a new team, first, click on the green Add button. You will need to give your team a name, select a color, and an icon. The grayed-out icons represent icons that you have already used for other teams. However, it is still possible to use these for multiple teams.
When you have created a new team, you will immediately see the user selection. Here you can assign your new team directly.
Assign users to teams
You can assign the users to your teams in the team administration under Settings > Teams. Each user can be part of as many teams as you wish at the same time.
Click on the action button of the respective team and then on Assign User. A window will open where users can be selected or deselected.
Users have a team selection on their detail page (directly below the name), which can be used to define the team affiliation. Since these changes may involve permission changes, admin rights are required here to make the changes.
When inviting new users, you have to select a team to which the respective user will be assigned. After inviting a user, it is possible to change the teams at any time in the settings or user details.
Assigning projects to teams
Projects have a team selection on their details page and in the editing window, which can be used to define the team affiliation.
If there are enough permissions for the project, the teams can be changed. However, only the projects that the user can see are available for selection.
If you create a new project and you are only allowed to see the projects of your own teams, you need to assign the project to one of your own teams when creating it.
Restrict visibility to own teams
In the settings of the permission roles (Settings > Permissions > Role Details), there are two options:
Only projects from own team and
Only users from own team.
If these are activated, users of this permission role are only allowed to see the projects or users of their own teams, or the set permissions then apply.
If, for example, I activate "Only projects of my own team" for an authorization role and then assign read-only permissions for the project details, tasks, and times, users will only be able to see the projects of their own team with read-only permissions.
If the setting is not activated, the set permissions for project details, tasks and times apply to all projects of the workspace.
Which projects do I see anyway?
If a user has been assigned to a project that does not belong to his team, the user will still be allowed to see it. The permissions of the respective project role that the user has on the project apply.
If the user is the creator of the project, the creator will be allowed to view and edit the project at any time.
If a user is only assigned to a task of a project, which they are not allowed to see, they will be allowed to see tasks, but not the project details.
Filter by teams
If teams are created in the workspace, there are filters that allow you to filter by teams. You can find examples of these filters here:
☝️Attention: Note that results will differ by whether you filter the time evaluation according to teams, user, or project.
If you filter the projects by teams, all reportings of the projects that are assigned to the team are displayed. This can also be data of users who actually do not belong to the team.
If you filter the users by teams, all times of the users who belong to the team will be displayed. However, these do not have to be all times that have been recorded on the project.
Teams can be deleted at any time in the team overview under Settings > Teams via the action menu of the action button. The users are automatically removed from the deleted team.
If projects were assigned to the team, they can be moved by selecting another team within the delete window.
If you no longer wish to use the teams in your workspace, you simply have to remove all teams, and the team filters and selection options in your workspace will also disappear.