Team planner enables cross-project planning of projects and users.

Depending on whether you're planning primarily projects or users, it is possible to switch between the two views Project and User.

In the project view, the focus is on the projects and all the tasks of a project. The displayed duration of the projects is calculated from the start of the first task and the end of the last task.

In the team view, all tasks of the users are displayed. This view is ideal for situations such as weekly team planning.

Assign projects & tasks to users

Select projects to be shown

In the first step, you will be asked to select the projects that should be displayed in the team planning. This selection can be adjusted at any time using the filters (on the right side). You can also select the users that will be displayed within the projects.

Now close the filter to have more space for the projects. You can reopen and edit it at any time using the filter button on the right.

All selected projects are now displayed in the timeline. The purple bar shows the duration of the project from the start of the first task to the end of the last task. In addition, the project deadline and all milestones are displayed…

Expand a project to see tasks and milestones

If you expand a project in the column on the left, the project opens and all users who are working on the project or are members are displayed. For each user, all project tasks are displayed in their row

In the last line, unallocated tasks are displayed. The order of the tasks in the timeline (from top to bottom) is automatically set by awork and can't be changed. This is different here than in the timeline in the project.

Dependencies are not displayed in this view.

Navigate to the project

Click on the project name to navigate to the project details.

Manage the workload of users

Select users to be shown

In the first step, you select the users you would like to see in the timeline, including their workload. You can adjust this selection at any time using the filter (on the right side). In the filter, you can select or deselect the projects you wish to see or not see when expanding the users.

You can now close the filter to have more space for the users. Reopen and edit it at any time using the filter button on the right.

The workload graph

All selected users are now displayed in the timeline. The graph shows you the workload of a user in the displayed interval. The color of the graph tells you the following:

  • Blue: In the time range, the user is not yet at his capacity limit

  • Purple to red: The user's capacity limit is reached to exceeded in the time range

The workload is calculated from the planned effort of all tasks that are assigned to a user in the corresponding period.

The effort is distributed evenly over the entire period. The effort for completed tasks is always 0, i.e., these are excluded from the effort analysis.

Example: A task starts Monday and ends Friday (5 days), with a planned effort of 10h. This means, 2h are calculated as the allotted effort for each day of the week.

Multiple task assignees

If you have tasks where multiple users are assigned, the planned effort is divided equally among all assigned users.

Example: If a task has two assignees and the planned effort is 10h, only 5h is calculated for each user over the time period of the task.

Change weekly capacity of a user

By default, the weekly working time of a user is 40 hours a week. Each user can adjust their capacity in their profile.

In the left column where the users are displayed, there is a small grey text field that shows the weekly capacity for the selected users.

By clicking in the field, you will be able to adjust the value. The new capacity will be applied directly to the graph.

Learn more about capacity here.

Enter absences

The shaded days in the timeline show user absences.

If you expand a user in the column on the left, his details will open. The top row shows the absences. New absences can be easily created by clicking and dragging here in the timeline.

You remove them again by clicking on the cross icon.

Absences can only be defined for complete days.

Tasks in the timeline

Create new tasks

New tasks can be created simply by clicking and dragging in the row for the respective user.

Assign tasks to users

Tasks can be moved from one user to another by drag & drop.

Alternatively, you can simply click on the user's image and assign another user.

Move tasks

Tasks' times can be adjusted by dragging and dropping. By dragging them at the start or end of the task, you can change the duration or deadline of a task.

Open tasks details

Click on the task name to open the task details in a window. Here, you're also able to edit the task as usual and, for example, view subtasks and comments.

Did this answer your question?