The time tracking settings allow you to define for which projects or time periods can be recorded and edited.
You will find the settings under Settings > General > Time tracking settings.
☝️Hint: Users of the admin group are not affected by the settings and can edit, create or delete times at any time. This way, corrections can still be made on completed projects without having to cancel the settings.
Prevent time recording on completed projects
If this setting is active, time can no longer be recorded on completed projects, and the times on these projects can no longer be edited.
Prevent time recording in the future
This setting prevents the recording of times that are further in the future than today.
Restrict time recording into the past
This option allows you to be able to restrict the recording and editing of times only for a certain number of days into the past. The corresponding value is given in days.
zero days means that times may only be recorded for today. Times before this period cannot be edited. If the field is empty, times may be created and edited in the past as long as they are not restricted by one of the other settings.
☝️Hint: The Settled value can also be edited despite the restriction so that time can also be settled after the project is completed and the corresponding status is set.
10-hour limit for time recording
The German Working Hours Act (ArbZG) stipulates that a maximum of 10 hours may be worked per day:
Arbeitszeitgesetz ArbZG, § 3 Working Hours of Employees.
The working time of employees may not exceed eight hours per working day.
It may only be extended up to ten hours if an average of eight hours per working day is not exceeded within six calendar months or within 24 weeks.
Therefore, if you want to limit the time tracking in your awork workspace to 10h per day to remind your employees or just to keep your time tracking data "clean", you can activate this setting.
If this setting is active, it will immediately affect all possibilities of creating or editing times:
Day & week view
Times that have already been recorded are only affected by this when they are edited.
☝️Note: As mentioned at the beginning of the article, users of the admin group can still create and edit times over 10h because they are not affected by this restriction.