The workload overview shows you the workload of your team in a timeline.

The workload is calculated smartly from planned tasks, bookings and appointments and takes into account the time already recorded for tasks.

The workload view always starts with today and only considers the future. There are two main reasons for this:

  1. Only currently open tasks and projects are considered. A view of the past is thus quickly distorted as soon as tasks and projects are completed.

  2. Unfinished tasks are pushed into the future (today until the end of the task). Today always plays an important role in how the unfinished effort is distributed over time.

More about this in the workload calculation section.

How to reach the workload overview

Open the planner in the main menu and select the Timeline view. At the bottom of the timeline you will find the Workload section. Click on it to open it. You can simply drag its height or maximize or collapse it by clicking the button on the right.

Select displayed users

Which users you want to see in the workload overview often depends on the use case. By clicking on the button "Select user" or the dashed button at the end of the user list you can select the displayed users. Here you can choose from three different selection options and combine them as you like:

  1. Select individual users

  2. Select teams (all users of the team)

  3. Select project (all members of the project)

Weekly working time / available capacity

The dashed line in the workload chart represents the available capacity of the user. The capacity can be specified for each day of the week from 0-12h. 0h means that the person is not working on that day. The number next to the user's name indicates the total weekly working time in hours.

Scheduled times by tasks and bookings are only distributed proportionally to the available days, depending on the amount of working time on that day.

Show tasks, bookings and appointments of users

To get more information about which projects, tasks, bookings and appointments are scheduled for a user and have an impact on the workload, you can move the mouse over the respective day in the workload chart.

Here you can see how the workload is composed for the respective day.

Another option is to expand the user line by clicking the small arrow button. In the expanded state you can see all absences, tasks and bookings that are scheduled for the user (with start & end time).

Appointments and tasks entered in the calendar are not visible in this view. By clicking on the respective day in the workload chart you will get to the selected day in the planner view.

Drag-create to create new tasks, bookings and absences

Use the proven drag-create in the row of a user to create new entries. Existing entries can easily be moved or extended.

Hide workload chart

If you only want to see what is currently scheduled for the selected users in the timeline, without the workload having any relevance for you, you can simply hide the charts by clicking the button in the upper right corner directly above the workload section.

All selected users will then be displayed folded out and you can see directly who has what scheduled and can easily make changes here.

Only pay attention to the calendar for the next 7 days

If the calendar for the next days of your users is quite full, e.g. because you schedule tasks in the calendar, you can disable the attention of all timeline elements (tasks and bookings) for these days. This will prevent the upcoming days from being displayed as overbooked.

To do this, click on the 7d icon in the upper right corner of the workload section.

Color-coding by projects

You can assign a color to projects. You do this via the action menu of a project (the 3 dots), e.g. in the timeline or also in the task sidebar in the planner.

The tasks and bookings are displayed in the workload timeline with a border in this color. This way you can better distinguish the different entries or recognize them as belonging together.

Task or booking is not displayed?

This can happen if you do not have permission to see the task or the associated project.

Another cause may be that the project has already been completed or canceled. Tasks and bookings of these projects are no longer displayed in the workload timeline and are not included in the calculation.

Did this answer your question?