In addition to the workload overview, the two views for scheduling tasks, the timeline view and the calendar view, are also among the most important parts of the awork planner. Who is working on the task and when?

Show users for planning

You can simply choose which users are displayed for planning. There are various options available to you, which you can combine as you wish.

  1. Select individual users

  2. Select all users of a team

  3. Select all users that are part of a project

The button to select or change your selection can be found at the bottom of the list of users.

Show tasks for planning

You can also easily select which tasks are displayed for you to schedule. You can do this in the following ways:

  1. Select a task filter that you have previously created.

  2. Select a project to see only the tasks for this project

  3. Select a team to see all tasks of the team's projects

  4. Select a customer to see all the tasks of the customer's unfinished projects.

Finished tasks

Finished tasks are initially hidden, since they usually do not need to be scheduled again. You can display them in the list at any time using the icon with the two checkmarks.

Already scheduled tasks

Tasks that have already been scheduled are automatically hidden in the list. Via the icon with the checkbox in the calendar you can display the hidden (already scheduled) tasks in the list again. You can recognize them by the purple checkbox in the list.

Group, sort and browse your task lists

The list of tasks can be grouped, sorted and browsed using the icons above the list.

Is there also a planner view in the project?

Since the whole thing can be done across projects, there is no separate planner view within a project. However, there is a button Show in planner in the upper right corner of the project tasks, which allows you to jump directly into the planner. The project and the project members are then preselected.

The timeline view

In the timeline view, you can see the scheduled projects as well as the tasks. In order for a task or project to appear in the timeline, the start and end dates must be set and the respective users must be assigned to it.

Hide and show projects or tasks

You can customize the view for yourself using the gear icon in the upper right corner. For example, you can hide projects or tasks, or show only those elements that have an impact on the workload.

Schedule, unschedule or move tasks

A task is considered scheduled when it is assigned to at least one user and has a start and end date. You can schedule and assign a task simply by dragging and dropping it into the timeline.

By dragging it longer or shorter or moving it, you can change the scheduled time range of the task.

To unschedule a task, click once on the task to open it, and then remove the start & end date.

Plan or reschedule projects

To schedule projects, check out this article. If a project is visible in the timeline, you can also reschedule it without jumping into the project details. To do so, click on the action button (the three dots) at the end of the project in the Timeline. Click on Schedule Time & Effort and the window for setting the schedule values for the users and the time range of the project will open.

☝️Note: Remember that when you adjust the time range of the project, it applies to all users of the project.

The calendar view

Plan, reschedule or move tasks

The tasks can be moved into the calendar using Drag & Drop to schedule them. In the calendar you can then move, shrink, enlarge, duplicate or remove the tasks from the calendar.

Scheduled tasks that have no planned effort automatically disappear from the list (see next section). Tasks that have a planned effort can be dragged to the calendar several times until the sum of hours of the planned effort is reached.

You can see from the small number in the planned effort how many times this task has already been scheduled in the calendar.

Hide scheduled tasks in list

You can show or hide already scheduled tasks using the filter with the calendar icon with the checkbox.

This is useful if you want to see only the tasks that you have not yet scheduled in your calendar.

If you show them, you can see the tasks already scheduled in the calendar by the purple checkbox in the task list. You can always reschedule tasks that are already scheduled in the calendar.

Did this answer your question?