Permissions help you to set who is allowed to read or manage the different parts (e.g. project details or project settings) within your awork workspace.
Permissions itself are based on global permission roles and project permission roles. The global permission role sets the users' permission for the whole workspace and across projects. The project permission role only applies to the project where the user is assigned to that role.
You can define what each role can do and see. The admin can always see and edit anything in your workspace. The permission management can only be changed by an admin.
Global Permission Roles
The global permission roles set your permission for the whole workspace and across projects.
To create a new role click on + Add Role. Now you can enter a name and decide if you want to configure the role on your own or use a preset provided by awork.
You can get more information about how to configure the roles here.
Of course you can edit or delete roles here and you can also reset a role to a preset at any time. If you click on the name you will get to role details. The admin and the guest role can't be edited or deleted. The admin has access to all parts of the workspace. You can find more information about the guest here.
Tip: If you want that a user only has access to certain projects take away his global permissions and just assign him/her to projects via a project role.
Project Persmission Roles
Project Roles set your permissions on project level.
To create a new role, click the +Add Role button. Now you can set the name and decide if users with this role can see/edit project details, see/edit project tasks and see/edit project times.
If you click on an existing project role you get to the details.
One of the project roles can be defined as the default role. This role will then be preselected when staffing a project team. If the default role is deleted or the default is deactivated, another role must be selected to be marked as default.
Here you see a list of all active users in your workspace. You can assign them their global permission role. A user can only have one role.
Tip: You can't move yourself out of the admin role because you would lose access to this page by this.