Teams allow you to group projects and users in your workspace and limit their visibility to other teams.
This way it is possible that teams can only see their own projects, but not the projects of other teams.
In the menu item Settings -> Teams you can manage the teams in your workspace.
As long as you have not created any teams, you will not see an option in your workspace to assign users or projects to teams or to filter by them.
To create a new team, first click on the add team button. You have to give your team a name and choose a colour and an icon. The greyed out icons represent icons that you have already used for other teams. You can still use them for newly created teams.
Once you have created a new team you immediately will be directed to the user selection. Here you can staff your new team.
Assign users to teams
You can assign users to your teams in the team overview under Settings -> Teams. Each user can be in as many teams as you like at the same time.
Click the More button (with the 3 dots) of the respective team and then select Assign user. A window will open where you can select or deselect the users.
Users also have a team selection on their user detail page (directly below the name) where you can select the teams for the user. As these changes might impact the permissions of the user you need admin permissions to be able to make these changes.
When inviting new users you have to select a team to which the respective user will be assigned. You can change the team assignment after the invitation at any time in the settings or the user details.
Assign projects to teams
Projects have a team selection on the project details page and in the editing window, which can be used to determine the team member.
If there are sufficient authorisations for the project, the teams can be changed. However, only those projects that you can see yourself are available for selection here.
If you create a new project and are only allowed to see the projects of your own teams, you must assign the project to one of your own teams when you create it.
Limit visibility to own teams
In the settings of the authorisation roles (Settings -> Permission management -> Role details) there are two options: "Only projects from own team" and "Only users from own team". If these are activated, users of this authorisation role can only see the projects or users of their own teams, or the set authorisations then apply.
For example, if I activate "Only projects from own team" for an authorisation role and then only assign view permissions for the project details, tasks and times, then users can only see the projects of their own team and only with these view permissions.
If the setting is not activated, the permissions set for project details, tasks and times apply to all projects in the workspace.
Which projects can I still see?
If a user is assigned to a project that does not belong to one of her teams, the user will still be able to see it. The permissions of the respective project role that the user has in this project apply.
If a user is the creator of the project, she may see and edit the project at any time.
If a user is only assigned to a task of a project that she is actually not allowed to see, she will be allowed to see the task only, but will not be able to see the project details.
Filter by teams
If teams are created in the workspace, there are filters that allow you to filter by team.
You can find these filters for instance here:
- Team planning
- Time reports
- Task views
- Project overview
- User overview
Note that it makes a difference whether, for example, time reports are filtered by teams via users or projects.
If you filter the projects by teams, all time entries of the projects assigned to the team are shown. These can also be time entires of users who do not actually belong to the team.
If you filter the users by teams, all time entires of the users who belong to the team are shown. However, these do not have to be all time entires which have been tracked on the project.
Teams can be deleted at any time in the team overview under Settings -> Teams via the menu of the multi-button.
The users will automatically be removed from the deleted team.
If projects were assigned to the team, they can be moved to another team by selecting this team within the deletion window.
Switch off teams
If you don't want to use the teams in your workspace anymore, you only have to remove all teams and the team filters and selections in your workspace will disappear.