Settings

How-To

Workspace

What is a Workspace?

A workspace is a group of people working with awork to manage their work. Usually it will comprise of the people that work together with you at the same company.

If you register for awork, you will be asked to create a workspace within the registration process. All you need to do is to enter your colleague's email addresses and names.

Of course, you can be part of multiple workspaces with your awork account and switch workspaces within your user profile.

Gif-1_Team-ENG.gif

How can I invite team members?

You can invite your workspace during setup or at any point later on. Just go to "workspace" / "Users" and invite your workspace.

What can I change about my team?

To make awork your own you can change the name and the logo of your workspace within "Settings" / "workspace ".

Project Types

What are project types?

It is important to keep an overview over projects. Therefore you can classify them via project types and know directly what kind of project it is. Furthermore, all the information like status, role and task bundles are related to the project types. Creating a project you can easily import all this information by the choosing the type.

How can I create project types?

To create a project type, you to go to “Settings” / “Project”. Here you will find all your existing types and you can create new ones.

This will open a pop-up where you can name the type, write a short description and select a nice little icon. When you let the check mark in "Navigate to type" set, you will be forwarded to the type details, when you save it.

Within the details page you can add project roles, statuses and task bundles to your project type

Gif-2-Eng-Settings.gif

Creating a project role

When adding a role you just need to put in the name and select if users within this role get the permissions to either manage, read or are not allowed to do anything for

  • Project Details
  • Project Tasks
  • Project Time Tracking

Gif-3-Eng-Settings.gif

Creating a project status

When creating a project status you just need to put in a name and match it to a project phase. Keep in mind that the different project phases can influence if tasks from the projects are shown within “My Tasks” or if the project is shown in the project overview.

Gif-4-Eng-Settings.gif

Adding a task bundle

Just select the task bundle you want to add to your project and choose in which status it should be added. This comes in handy if you need certain bundles only at a later time in you project. You can add of course as many task bundles as you want to a project type. These will show up as lists in you project.

Gif-5-Eng-Settings.gif

Task Bundles

What are task bundles?

Task Bundles help you to organize your projects even better. If you need a set a predefined task for your projects, you can just create task bundles which will later be added as lists to your project. This is also your option to create standard projects plans by connecting task bundles with a project type.

How can I create task bundles?

You can create task bundles via “Settings” / “Task Bundles”. When adding a task bundle you choose a name and an icon. Afterwards you can add lists and task (and subtasks) to your bundle.

Gif-6-Eng-Settings.gif

How can I add tasks bundles to my projects?

There are two ways to add your task bundles to a project

  1. Adding it in the project
  2. Connecting it with a project type

If you want to add the task bundle to a project just navigate to your project tasks and click on the “Import Task Bundle” Button. Select the bundle you want to add and you are done.

If you want to connect your task bundle with a project type, please go to project types.

Gif-7-Eng-Settings.gif

Type of Work

What is the Type of Work?

The Type of Work describes the basic kind of work that you plan to track your times on (e.g. 'design', 'admin', 'sales') and are available in all reports. This helps you to get a good overview about how you spend your time.

How can I create new types?

To add a new Type of Work navigate to “Settings” / “Type of Work”. Here you can add a new type. You just need to put in a name and select a logo.

Gif-8-Eng-Settings.gif

Where can I set the Type of Work

The type of Work is set within a task. The Type of work will now be preselected when tracking times on this task.

Screen-9-Eng-Settings.png

If you don’t track your time on a task you can set it when tracking your time.

Screen-10-Eng-Settings.png

Permissions

Why do I need permissions?

Permissions help you to set who is allowed to read or manage the different part (e.g. project details or project settings) within your awork workspace.

Permissions itself are based on user roles. You can define which pages and permissions each role should have. The admin role is essential and has complete access to everything. You need to be in the admin role to change permissions and manage your awork subscription.

How do I create new roles?

Navigate to "Settings" / "Permissions" to add a new role. All you need to do is put in the name of the role. Afterwards you can drag & drop users from other roles into your new role.

Gif-9-Eng-Settings.gif

How do I set the permissions for each role?

If you click on the roles name you can set the permissions for the role. Permissions are always separated by the permission itself and if you want to make the menu item visible to the users in that group. For the permission you can decide between

  • Manage
  • Read
  • None

For each section (e.g. projects, tasks) you can either set custom permissions, give all permissions to everyone or nothing to everyone.

Project based permissions can also bet set by project role. You can create / edit projects roles within project types.

Gif-10-Eng-Settings.gif

FAQ

Which browser are supported by awork?

awork works with the following browsers (Versions):

  • Chrome (from v57)
  • Edge (from v40)
  • Safari (from v10)
  • Mobile Safari (from v10)
  • Firefox (from v52)
  • Opera (from v44)

What happens when I put myself in a non-admin role?

It is not possible, that no one is in the admin permission role. When you put yourself in a different non-admin role by accident, you have to ask someone who has the admin permissions to put you back in there. 

Are there shortcuts in awork?

Yes, there are some shortcuts that you can use anywhere in awork.

  • Press "f", "s" or "u" to open search
  • Press "m" to expand the menu bar

How can I delete my workspace?

If you want to delete your awork workspace, you can do so within your user profile. Just navigate to your profile and select the option "Delete workspace". Now you will receive an email to confirm this action.

All data related to the workspace will be deleted, so please make sure to export all of your data before doing this.

Delete_Workspace_ENG.png

awork Updates

Whats up next? The awork roadmap

If you want to know the next features that are in our pipeline you can easily check on our roadmap page.

Team's Work - 13.05.2018

Create task views

Task Views give you the option to create individual view for you tasks via filters. That way you can e.g. bundle task from your team or customer hat are due this week in one single view. Of course there is the option to choose from many other filters. 

Work-Space-Time - 24.04.2019

Create Subtasks

You can now create subtasks in the task details. This should give you an even cleaner overview for your project tasks. 

New filters for Time-Tracking Reports

There are new filters for the Time-Tracking Reports. You can now filter if you only want to show "billed" or "billable" times.

Easier switching between projects

When switching between projects we always showed the project details. From now on we will keep the same view (lists, board or details) from the previos project when switchting projects in the project overview

Teams are now workspaces

Because not everyone got what we meant by teams we changed the name to workspace. The functionality will remain the same.

 

Real Social - 07.03.2019

You will find detailed information here.

awork - 04.02.2019

Q. is now awork - More details here.

Fluffy Spacetime - 03.09.2018 (Q.)

Calendar Integration

The Q. calendar integration enables you to show your appointments within Q. This way you can directly use them for your time tracking.